This page is to outline the Oregon State Law about theft and in application to locksmiths and consumers.
Believe it or not, there are people whom we quote over the phone, come out in person, verify the work and amount, do the work for them and then they refuse to pay us.
Upfront, we are here to help you. You generally only call when something bad happens, we understand that you don’t want be calling us, but you want us to help you.
I would also preface, that we do not just sit around waiting for someone to call. We are working on other jobs with other clients, so yes, when you call and have us come out, you are taking time away from us helping other people. And at night your are taking away from our team’s time with their family, friends and sleep.
This is all ok, because we offer a 24 hour service expect that.
So here is the condensed version of the law:
|Theft III |
|C Misdemeanor||—stealing property valued at less than $100.|
|Theft II |
|A Misdemeanor||—stealing property valued at between $100 and $1000.|
|Theft I |
|C Felony||May be committed in a variety of ways including: |
—stealing property valued at more than $1000; or
—stealing a firearm or explosive (of any value); or
—stealing a companion animal or livestock; or
—buying or selling property known to be stolen (of any value); or
—stealing property during a riot, fire, catastrophe.
|Aggravated Theft I |
|B Felony||—stealing property valued at greater than $10,000.|
I would note, that in the state of Oregon services are considered the same as property.
The full article and credit I would direct to The Oregon Crimes Theft Credit.
For example, if we come out at night and drive down to Cottage Grove to make a key and its $125 for the service charge and milage and $50 for the key, we arrive and while we are getting set up you find your keys. Then you still need to pay us for the $125 service and mileage charge to come out. If you refuse to pay us, that is a Theft II Class A misdemeanor that you can be arrested for.
Officially, we have and will press charges for refusals to pay for services performed. We are currently 100% on collecting as most people to do not wan’t to go to jail.
That being said, this is not intended to intimidate, only to illuminate. We just want to help you and be appropriately compensated for our services in doing so. Involving the police is only one method of doing so. And not one we like to have to use.
**Disclaimer, we are not providing legal advice, we have no expertise, training or certification and in doing so. If you have serious legal inquires we would suggest contacting a lawyer